Tools and best practices that won the 2015 contest 'Spotlight on the Top 10 Best Practices on Official Languages'

Organizations Best Practices Contact Persons Description of the Best Practices
Public Service Commission of Canada Active Offer Guide Michelle Devaney
michelle.devaney@cfp-psc.gc.ca
819-420-6588

Lyne Vaillancourt
lyne.vaillancourt@cfp-psc.gc.ca
819-420-6628
The Active Offer Guide provides information to help employees understand what the active offer is and how to apply it by using different delivery mechanisms such as bilingual signage, correspondence and greetings. It includes practical tips and key standard phrases as well as a self-assessment checklist.
Canada Post Online Awareness Training Tool on Official Languages France Coulombe
france.coulombe@canadapost.postescanada.ca
613-734-6398

Robert Fabes
robert.fabes@canadapost.postescanada.ca
613-734-3237
The Online Awareness Training Tool on Official Languages is a mandatory interactive official languages training program for employees who are required to communicate in both official languages internally or with the public. The ultimate goal is to ensure that linguistic duality is recognized as an asset both professionally and personally.
Public Service Commission of Canada and
Translation Bureau
Pilot Project on Second Language Level Checks Alexandre Poissant
alexandre.poissant@cfp-psc.gc.ca
819-420-8631

Alexandre Contreras
alexandre.contreras@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca
613-608-2645
Level Tests give potential candidates and current public servants an indication of what kind of results they may obtain on the official Second Language Evaluation tests. They help people identify their training needs before taking the official tests and give those who do well on them the confidence that they will achieve the required level when they take the official tests.
Department of Finance Official Languages Roadmap Tool for Early Career Second Language Learning Sarah Landry
sarah.landry@canada.ca
613-369-3504
The Roadmap Tool for Early Career Second Language Learning was developed to help new recruits to achieve a BBB level of proficiency within a three year period.
Innovation, Science and Economic Development and
Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
Lens 41 decision-making tool/ Official Languages Filter Roda Muse (ISED/ISDE)
roda.muse@canada.ca
613-552-0649

Frédéric Janelle  (CRTC)
frederic.janelle@crtc.gc.ca
819-997-4608
The CRTC and Innovation, Science and Economic Development (ISED, formally Industry Canada) have similar tools: Lens 41 for the CRTC, which focuses on official language minority communities (OLMCs); and the Official Languages Filter for ISED, which looks at all aspects of the Official Languages Act. These tools assess the impact of decisions, policies, programs or services on OLMCs.
Translation Bureau (Public Services and Procurement Canada) Machine Translation Tool Daniel M. Caron
daniel.caron2@pwgsc-tpsgc.gc.ca
613-240-7371

Roxane Haché
roxane.hache@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca
819-997-3448

Strategic Business Reengineering TPSGC.BTsolutionsaffaires-TBBusinessSolutions.PWGSC@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca
The machine translation engine is a powerful communication tool to allow public servants to be able to better communicate in either official language, in order to quickly understand and disseminate short communications and short texts amongst themselves.
Transport Canada Feedback on Official Languages Tool François Ste-Marie
francois.ste-marie@tc.gc.ca
613-991-0161

Valérie Gravière
valerie.graviere@tc.gc.ca
613-294-5905
The Official Languages Feedback Tool enables employees to submit comments on official languages through a short questionnaire available on the intranet. It allows employees, from all regions, to provide feedback on a good practice or an issue that they have had related to official languages. This enables HR to follow up with management to share the feedback. In case of issues, the tool allows HR to work with management in order to solve the issue in a timely manner.
Canada Revenue Agency National Committee of Official Languages Champions Anne-Marie Lévesque
anne-marie.levesque@cra-arc.gc.ca
613-960-2388

Roxanne Descôteaux
roxanne.descoteaux@cra-arc.gc.ca
The National Committee of Official Languages Champions which is chaired by the Official Languages Champion is made up of senior executives from each of Canada Revenue Agency's regions and branches. The members of this Committee ensured that that official languages is promoted and integrated in the workplace. This is an effective way of getting the employees' input on the Agency's Official Languages Program and activities.
Natural Resources Canada Logo "Apprentice – I am writing in my second language" Bart Bilmer
bart.bilmer@canada.ca
343-292-8563

Marie Madeleine Farma Chourouba
mariemadeleine.chourouba@canada.ca
343-292-8455
The logo "Apprentice – I am writing in my second language" was developed to encourage the use of the second language. By adding the logo to their written communications, employees can signal to their colleagues that they are writing in their second official language.
Natural Resources Canada Official Languages Governance Structure Based on Collective Leadership Eric Advokaat
eric.advokaat@canada.ca
343-292-8804

Marie Madeleine Farma Chourouba
mariemadeleine.chourouba@canada.ca
343-292-8455
The Official Languages Governance Structure of Natural Resources Canada is based on a collective leadership that engages all sectors, managers and employees to enable to manage efficiently, and in an integrate manner, the departments' obligations related to official languages. This strategy has meaningfully contributed in improving the performance in our department.
Public Health Agency of Canada (Atlantic Region) Service Loans and Language Internships Tool Maya Bélanger
Maya.Belanger@hc-sc.gc.ca
902-440-7412
The Prêts de services initiative is a partnership between la Fédération acadienne de la Nouvelle-Écosse and the Public Health Agency of Canada. It matches an employee with a Francophone community group.  It provides the community group with another resource and allows them to share their knowledge, to gain a better understanding of the PHAC and to forge ties with other organizations. For some employees, this type of setting is more practical for learning the second language than being in a classroom.
Date modified:

Outils et pratiques exemplaires retenus à la suite du concours « Pleins feux sur les dix meilleures pratiques exemplaires en matière de langues officielles » de 2015

Organisations Pratiques exemplaires Personnes-ressources Descriptions des pratiques exemplaires
Commission de la fonction publique du Canada Guide sur l'offre active Michelle Devaney
michelle.devaney@cfp-psc.gc.ca
819-420-6588

Lyne Vaillancourt
lyne.vaillancourt@cfp-psc.gc.ca
819-420-6628
Le guide sur l'offre active fournit de l'information aux employés pour leur permettre de comprendre ce qu'est l'offre active et comment l'appliquer en utilisant différents mécanismes de livraison tels que la signalisation bilingue, la correspondance et les messages d'accueil. Le guide fournit aussi des trucs pratiques de même que des phrases clés normalisées et une liste de contrôle pour l'auto-évaluation.
Postes Canada Outil de formation en ligne sur la sensibilisation en matière de langues officielles France Coulombe
france.coulombe@canadapost.postescanada.ca
613-734-6398

Robert Fabes
robert.fabes@canadapost.postescanada.ca
613-734-3237
L'outil de formation en ligne sur la sensibilisation en matière de langues officielles est un programme de formation interactif obligatoire pour les employés qui doivent communiquer dans les deux langues officielles à l'interne ou avec le public. Le but ultime est de faire en sorte que la dualité linguistique soit reconnue comme un atout, tant sur le plan professionnel que personnel.
Commission de la fonction publique du Canada et Bureau de la traduction Projet pilote sur les indicateurs de niveaux de la langue seconde Alexandre Poissant
alexandre.poissant@cfp-psc.gc.ca
819-420-8631

Alexandre Contreras
alexandre.contreras@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca
613-608-2645
Les tests de niveaux permettent aux candidats potentiels, de même qu'aux employés qui sont déjà en poste à la fonction publique, d'avoir une indication du niveau qu'ils pourraient obtenir aux tests officiels d'évaluation de langue seconde. Ces tests de niveaux permettent ainsi aux individus d'identifier leurs besoins de formation avant de passer les tests officiels, et s'ils performent bien, de les mettre en confiance à l'idée qu'ils pourraient atteindre le niveau visé lorsqu'ils passeront les tests officiels.
Ministère des Finances Feuille de route sur les langues officielles pour l'apprentissage de la langue seconde en début de carrière Sarah Landry
sarah.landry@canada.ca
613-369-3504
La feuille de route sur les langues officielles pour l'apprentissage de la langue seconde en début de carrière a été créée pour aider les nouvelles recrues à atteindre un niveau de compétence linguistique BBB en trois ans ou moins.
Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique et le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes Outil / Filtre des langues officielles Roda Muse (ISED/ISDE)
roda.muse@canada.ca
613-552-0649

Frédéric Janelle  (CRTC)
frederic.janelle@crtc.gc.ca
819-997-4608
Le CRTC et Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique (ISDE, anciennement Industrie Canada) ont un outil similaire, la lentille 41 pour le CRTC qui met l'emphase sur les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM) et pour ISDE, c'est le filtre des langues officielles qui examine toutes les parties de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Ces outils permettent d'analyser l'impact des décisions, politiques, programmes ou services sur les CLOSM.
Bureau de la traduction (Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada) Outil de traduction automatique Daniel M. Caron
daniel.caron2@pwgsc-tpsgc.gc.ca
613-240-7371

Roxane Haché
roxane.hache@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca
819-997-3448

Réingénierie stratégique des affaires TPSGC.BTsolutionsaffaires-TBBusinessSolutions.PWGSC@tpsgc-pwgsc.gc.ca
Le moteur de traduction automatique est un puissant outil de communication visant à permettre aux fonctionnaires de mieux communiquer, quelle que soit la langue officielle utilisée. Ils pourront ainsi comprendre et diffuser rapidement de courtes communications et de courts textes entre eux.
Transports Canada Outil de rétroaction sur les langues officielles François Ste-Marie
francois.ste-marie@tc.gc.ca
613-991-0161

Valérie Gravière
valerie.graviere@tc.gc.ca
613-294-5905
L'outil de rétroaction sur les langues officielles permet aux employés de soumettre des commentaires sur les langues officielles par le biais d'un court questionnaire disponible sur l'intranet. Il permet aux employés, dans toutes les régions, de partager des pratiques exemplaires ou de signaler des enjeux qu'ils pourraient avoir vécus en matière de langues officielles. Ceci permet aux RH de faire un suivi avec la gestion pour leur partager la rétroaction. En cas d'enjeux, l'outil permet aux RH de travailler avec la gestion afin de trouver une solution rapidement.
Agence du revenu du Canada Comité national des champions sur les langues officielles Anne-Marie Lévesque
anne-marie.levesque@cra-arc.gc.ca
613-960-2388

Roxanne Descoteaux
roxanne.descoteaux@cra-arc.gc.ca
Le Comité national des champions sur les langues officielles, présidé par la championne des langues officielles, est composé de cadres de direction des directions générales et régions de l'Agence du revenu du Canada. Les membres de ce comité veillent à la promotion des langues officielles et à leur intégration dans le milieu de travail. Ceci nous permet de connaître l'avis des employés sur les activités et programme des langues officielles de l'Agence.
Ressources naturelles Canada Logo « Apprenti – J'écris dans ma langue seconde » Bart Bilmer
bart.bilmer@canada.ca
343-292-8563

Marie Madeleine Farma Chourouba
mariemadeleine.chourouba@canada.ca
343-292-8455
Le logo « Apprenti – J'écris dans ma langue seconde » a été développé pour encourager l'usage de la langue seconde. En ajoutant le logo à leurs communications écrites, les employés peuvent indiquer à leurs collègues qu'ils écrivent dans leur seconde langue officielle.
Ressources naturelles Canada Structure de gouvernance des langues officielles fondée sur un leadership collectif Eric Advokaat
eric.advokaat@canada.ca
343-292-8804

Marie Madeleine Farma Chourouba
mariemadeleine.chourouba@canada.ca
343-292-8455
La structure de gouvernance des langues officielles de Ressources naturelles Canada est fondée sur un leadership collectif qui mobilise tous les secteurs, gestionnaires et employés pour permettre de gérer de façon efficace et intégrée les obligations relatives aux langues officielles au sein du Ministère. Cette stratégie a contribué  à améliorer de façon significative le rendement dans notre ministère en matière de langues officielles.
Agence de la santé publique du Canada (région de l'Atlantique) Prêts de services et outil sur les stages linguistiques Maya Bélanger
Maya.Belanger@hc-sc.gc.ca
902-440-7412
L'initiative Prêts de services est un partenariat entre la Fédération acadienne de la Nouvelle-Écosse et l'Agence de santé publique du Canada (ASPC). Elle jumèle un(e) employé(e) à un groupe de la communauté francophone. Ceci permet à la communauté d'avoir une ressource supplémentaire et de partager ses connaissances afin de mieux connaître l'ASPC et de faire des liens avec d'autres organismes. Pour certains employés, un tel contexte est plus efficace pour l'apprentissage de la langue seconde que la salle de classe.
Date de modification :