Video Dare! Osez! (Long version)

Download: MP4 format (165 Mb)

Transcript: Video Dare! Osez! (Long version)

(Music of Andrea Lindsay singing Les Yeux de Marie)

Andrea Lindsay:

Hello! Bonjour! I'm singer songwriter Andrea Lindsay. I grew up as an Anglophone in Guelph, Ontario.

I started singing in English. But my career really took off when I began to sing in French.

In 2010, I won a Juno award for Francophone album of the year!

I actually was invited by a friend to go and spend some time in France. I was 18 at the time and I just had such a great time and I fell in love with the language. I asked myself what makes you passionate? What do you like? And my two passions really are music and French so I decided to put the two together.

Speaking both French and English is helping many public service employees to push the boundaries in their careers.

I'm going to introduce you to some people who are making it happen everyday.

And I challenge you to DARE! OSEZ! to take full advantage of every linguistic opportunity you can!

Joanne Frappier:
Linguistic duality gives Canada a unique niche in the world. We are one of the only major countries to be a member of both the Commonwealth and the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie. About 500 million people in the world speak English and more than 100 million speak French. Our linguistic duality positions Canada to be a leader in today's global world.

Peter Liang:
I soon realized the importance of being able to speak French in the public service, I studied by going to the library of Vancouver and I borrowed tons of cassettes and a 500 page grammar book and so every day I would just listen to these cassettes. I tried out the exams, the second language test in 2008 and I got an E for Exemption.

Wendy Braithwaite:
I really wanted to learn French so I just kept reading French books, listening to radio and TV in French. I also signed up for the federal program Campusdirect. It's on-line, 24/7 and it's free.

Andrea Lindsay:
French and English are part of our Canadian heritage… and an integral part of the public service.

We've developed tools to encourage linguistic duality in this country…many of which can be found on the website.

Once you learn a second language, it's vital that you use it on a daily basis…You have to Dare! Osez!

Ousmane Alkaly:
I always begin a meeting speaking in both French and English. That way people know that they are free to use the language of their choice. It gives me a great opportunity to use my second language every day. I also try to write emails in French as much as possible.

Andréa Duncan:
I registered for a course in a private school and I participate in my office's linguistic buddy program.

Maryse Lauzier:
So every Thursday we have a French lunch where basically the rules are you bring your own lunch, you go to the meeting room and and we talk about anything but work and in French. These are the only two things.

Linda Luu Kiefl:
It's really important to make sure you have sources and perspectives from both cultures. I always try to ensure there's a balance between French and English references when I'm preparing documents.

Daniel Cadieux:
To help me maintain my English speaking skills, and understand the needs of the Anglophone community in Quebec, I needed to do something very practical. So I went on an internship in an Anglophone non-profit organization. It allowed me to perfect my English, understand this community's needs and share my expertise.

Marie-Josée Brazeau:
I'm Algonquin and member of the Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg First Nation. My mother speaks French and my father speaks English. I'm fortunate to know three cultures. I make it a personal practice in my daily life to respect and better understand myself and my cultures. It helps me bring people together and act as a unifier in my work. When I have access to the values of others, I want to respect them and appreciate their richness. Kaknanzom (Dare!)

Nicolas Sylvestre:
Daring to establish a workplace where both official languages are valued is a day-to-day challenge. I'm always encouraged to use the language of my choice. I feel free to write anything ...emails, documents... and of course speak at meetings in whichever language I choose. I'm fully respected and valued by my superiors and my colleagues whether I communicate in French or English.

Joël-Jean Beauchemin:
Speaking your official language of choice or practicing your second language is a two-way street between me and my employer. It's also a responsibility I share with my colleagues. We all work together on this.

Alison Cousins:
The second Thursday in September is Linguistic Duality Day throughout the public service. This year I plan to participate. I'll encourage everyone in my team to use our website in their second language to get to know our programs and activities better. Then we'll have a short meeting and share what we learned.

Andrea Lindsay:
I was afraid to take the leap and to write in French that was scary to me. Just keep at it and don't listen to the voices in your head saying oh I sound silly or I sound this or I sound that …just go for it!

Ousmane Alkaly:
OK, when I was learning English, I always mixed up chicken and the kitchen. And when I would like to ask people to come into the kitchen I asked them to come in the chicken.

Linda Luu Kiefl:
I always get the words confused between cheveux and chevaux in French. So I accidentally told someone they were having a great horse day one day when I really trying to say they were having a great hair day.

Daniel Cadieux:
Well once I was in this big meeting and it was at work of course, and I wanted to say "je suis impliquer dans toute sorts d'affaires" so I said "I'm involved in all sorts of affairs".

Andrea Lindsay:
My love of languages helped me to reach for the stars.

Today, I challenge you to expand your horizons and open up new perspectives.

By learning, using and loving the gifts of a second language you can reach for your own stars.

Go ahead… I Dare You!

Date modified:

Vidéo Osez! Dare! (version longue)

Téléchargement : MP4 format (165 Mo)

Transcription : Vidéo Osez! Dare! (version longue)

(Musique de Andrea Lindsay - Les Yeux de Marie)

Andrea Lindsay :

Bonjour! Je suis Andrea Lindsay, auteur/ compositeur /interprète originaire de Guelph, en Ontario.

Anglophone de naissance, j'ai entamé ma carrière de chanteuse en anglais. Mais c'est lorsque je me suis mise à chanter en français que ma carrière a véritablement pris son essor.

En 2010, j'ai remporté le prix Juno de l'album francophone de l'année.

Je ne parlais pas le français, et à l'âge de 18 ans, un ami m'a invitée à venir visiter son pays la France.  J'ai eu un coup de cœur pour la langue. La musique c'est une passion dans ma vie depuis longtemps depuis toujours depuis que je suis toute petite. L'autre passion dans ma vie c'était le français. C'était un choix logique pour moi.

La connaissance du français et de l'anglais aide aussi de nombreux fonctionnaires à faire évoluer leur carrière.  

Je vais vous présenter des gens qui le font tous les jours.

Et je vous mets au défi d'OSER profiter au maximum de chaque occasion linguistique qui se présente à vous.

Joanne Frappier :
La dualité linguistique constitue une niche tout à fait unique pour le Canada. Nous sommes l'un des seuls grands pays à être membre à la fois du Commonwealth et de l'Organisation internationale de la francophonie. Près de 500 millions de personnes dans le monde parlent l'anglais et plus de 100 millions parlent le français. Cette dualité linguistique place le Canada en position de chef de file dans le monde aujourd'hui.

Peter Liang :
J'ai décidé d'apprendre le français parce que je me suis rendu compte de l'importance de cette langue officielle dans la fonction publique… Je suis allé par exemple à la bibliothèque de Vancouver et là j'ai emprunté des cassettes, livres de grammaires qui comptent 500 pages. Après avoir réussi mes examens de français du gouvernement du Canada, je suis arrivé à mettre en candidature pour tous ces postes de gestion.

Wendy Braithwaite :
Je voulais vraiment apprendre le français alors j'ai lu des livres, j'ai écouté la radio et la télé en français. Je me suis inscrite également au programme fédéral Campusdirect. C'est en ligne, 24 sur 7 et c'est gratuit.

Andrea Lindsay :
Le français et l'anglais sont des éléments importants de notre patrimoine canadien... et font partie intégrante de la fonction publique.

Les outils étaient mis au point pour promouvoir la dualité linguistique au Canada. Beaucoup d'entre eux se trouvent sur le site Web.

Après avoir appris une deuxième langue, il est impératif de s'en servir au quotidien... Il faut Osez! Dare !

Ousmane Alkaly :
J'ouvre toujours une réunion en parlant et le français, et l'anglais. De cette manière, les gens savent qu'ils peuvent parler dans la langue de leur choix. Cela me donne également l'occasion d'utiliser ma deuxième langue officielle à tous les jours. J'essaie aussi d'écrire des courriels en anglais aussi souvent que possible.

Andréa Duncan :
Je me suis inscrite à un cours dans une école privée et je participe au programme de compagnonnage linguistique à mon bureau.

Maryse Lauzier :
J'organise aussi des dîners en français qui sont des dîners à chaque jeudi. Et les seules règles sont : on apporte son repas et on parle en français, sans parler de travail. Il y a des gens de tout niveau qui parlent pratiquement pas français qui sont là, ou des gens qui sont parfaitement bilingues, des francophones et tout le monde y trouve son compte.

Linda Luu Kiefl :
C'est réellement important d'avoir des sources et des perspectives des deux cultures. J'essaie toujours d'assurer un équilibre entre les sources anglophones et francophones lorsque je prépare des documents.

Daniel Cadieux :
Pour m'aider à maintenir mes compétences en anglais oral et à comprendre les besoins de la communauté anglophone du Québec, j'avais besoin de faire quelque chose de pratique. J'ai donc fait un stage de travail dans un organisme sans but lucratif de cette communauté. Ce stage m'a permis de parfaire mon anglais, de connaître les besoins de la communauté et d'apporter mon expertise.

Marie-Josée Brazeau :
Je suis Algonquin et membre de la première nation Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg. Ma mère parle le français et mon père l'anglais. J'ai de la chance de connaître trois cultures. Je fais une pratique personnelle et quotidienne de me respecter et de mieux comprendre mes cultures. Ça m'aide à rapprocher les gens et à jouer un rôle de rassembleur dans mon travail. Quand j'ai accès aux valeurs de l'autre, je peux le respecter et apprécier sa richesse. Kaknanzom (Osez!)

Nicolas Sylvestre :
Oser instaurer un milieu de travail où on valorise les deux langues officielles, c'est un défi au jour le jour.  Je suis toujours encouragé à utiliser la langue de mon choix. Je me sens libre d'écrire… des courriels, des documents… et d'intervenir, bien entendu, dans des rencontres dans la langue que je choisis. Je suis pleinement respecté et valorisé par mes supérieurs et mes collègues, que je communique en français ou en anglais.

Joël-Jean Beauchemin :
Parler la langue officielle de son choix ou pratiquer votre langue seconde se joue entre moi et mon employeur. C'est aussi une responsabilité que je partage avec mes collègues. Nous travaillons tous ensemble là-dessus.

Alison Cousins :
Le deuxième jeudi de septembre est la Journée de la dualité linguistique partout dans la fonction publique. Cette année, j'ai l'intention de participer. Je vais encourager tous les membres de mon équipe à utiliser notre site Web, dans leur langue seconde, pour mieux connaître nos programmes et nos activités. Ensuite, nous aurons une brève rencontre pour partager ce que nous avons appris.

Andrea Lindsay :
D'osez à parler à me tromper, de mal conjuguer, d'avoir un accent, tout ça m'a pris du temps.

Andrea lindsay :
Ma passion pour les langues m'a aidé à viser haut.

Aujourd'hui, je vous mets au défi d'élargir vos horizons et d'ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives.

En apprenant une deuxième langue, en l'utilisant et en profitant des avantages qu'elle vous procure, vous pouvez, vous aussi, atteindre les plus hauts sommets.

Allez, y... Osez!

Date de modification :