Official Languages Governance

Parliament

Parts I and II of the Official Languages Act (OLA) respectively govern the proceedings of Parliament, and legislative and other instruments.

Under section 88 of the OLA, Parliament must designate or constitute a committee of the Senate, the House of Commons, or both, specifically to review the administration of the OLA, and any regulations or directives made under it. There are currently two committees, one of the House and one of the Senate, that ensure monitoring of the annual reports (or others) of the Commissioner of Official Languages' (sections 66 and 67 of the OLA), the President of the Treasury Board (section 48 of the OLA) and the Minister of Canadian Heritage (section 44 of the OLA).

Parliament acts through parliamentary committees on official languages of the House of Commons and the Senate. These parliamentary committees play an important role in monitoring the application of the OLA and any regulations or directives made under it.

The parliamentary committees may also request the appearance of the minister responsible for official languages and senior officials from any department regarding official languages issues.

Role of Federal Institutions

All federal institutions (subsection 3(1) of the OLA) are subject to the OLA and must implement its provisions.

All federal institutions except the Senate, House of Commons, the Library of Parliament, the Office of the Senate Ethics Officer, the Office of the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner must conform to the official languages policies and directives adopted by the Treasury Board (subs. 46(2) of the OLA).

Commissioner of Official Languages

Under Part IX of the OLA, any individual or group has the right to complain to the Commissioner of Official Languages regardless of the official language spoken by the complainants (subsection 58(2) of the OLA). Notwithstanding the other provisions of Part IX, the Commissioner shall investigate any complaint made to the Commissioner to the effect that the status of an official language was or is not being recognized, any provision of any Act of Parliament or regulation relating to the status or use of the official languages was not or is not being complied with, or the spirit or intent of the OLA was not or is not being complied with in the administration of any federal institution (subsection 58(1) of the OLA).

The Commissioner may investigate, issue recommendations and, at the conclusion of the investigation, send the report first to the institution in question and then to the Governor in Council (sections 59 to 64 of the OLA). If no action is taken following the recommendations, the Commissioner may submit the report in question to Parliament. The Commissioner may also present a special report to Parliament on any issue under the Commissioner's jurisdiction (sections 66 and 67 of the OLA).

Federal Court

The OLA creates a specific court remedy for breaches of certain provisions of the Act. They are sections 4 to 7 and 10 to 13, and Parts IV, V, VII, as well as section 91 of the OLA. The remedy is subject to certain time limitation conditions for any person who has submitted a complaint to the Commissioner of Official Languages. The Federal Court is the court authorized to hear these remedies (section 77 of the OLA). The Commissioner of Official Languages may seek the remedy himself or appear as an intervenor (section 78 of the OLA). To make access to this remedy easier, the OLA provides a summary procedure and specific rules of evidence.

Moreover, Part III of the OLA creates a number of rights and obligations regarding the administration of justice. These rights and obligations apply to cases before the federal courts (subsection 3(2) of the OLA). As an example, section 18 of the OLA states that when Her Majesty in Right of Canada or a federal institution is a party before a federal court, they shall use, in oral or written proceedings, the official language chosen by the other party or the official language that is most reasonable in the circumstances. The Federal Court is considered such a court.

Department of Justice

The Department was responsible for the development of the OLA in 1988 and continues to have general responsibility. It advises the government on legal issues regarding the status or use of official languages and represents the government in language rights cases.

The Department also has specific responsibilities regarding the administration of justice in both official languages and works together with the Treasury Board Secretariat, the Public Service Commission, the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages and Canadian Heritage.

The Department must respect its constitutional and legislative obligations and all applicable policies and directives. Beyond these obligations, it encourages all its employees to implement best practices to encourage the use of both official languages in the workplace.

Department of Canadian Heritage

Section 42 of the OLA confers on the Minister of Canadian Heritage, in consultation with the other federal ministers, the mandate to encourage and promote a coordinated approach to the implementation by federal institutions of the obligations set out in section 41 of the OLA. The Department of Canadian Heritage ensures the coordination and strategic orientation of this section of the OLA in federal institutions. Among other things, it coordinates the information and best practices sharing activities between federal institutions. It analyzes and evaluates the action plans and annual reports of the federal institutions' results and suggests directions or possible steps. It facilitates consultations with representatives from official language minority communities and raises awareness in public servants of the need to take these issues into consideration during the policy and program development process. The Department of Canadian Heritage works closely with the designated institutions but also supports all federal institutions and encourages them to take section 41 of the OLA into consideration when planning and implementing their departmental activities.

As part of its mandate, the Minister of Canadian Heritage takes measures deemed appropriate to advance the equality of status and use of English and French in Canadian society (section 43 of the OLA). For example, the Minister enters into agreements with the provinces and territories regarding education and other fields to improve service provision by the provinces and territories to the communities in their own official language.

In accordance with section 44 of the OLA, the Minister of Canadian Heritage submits an annual report to Parliament on the matters relating to its official languages mandate (Part VII). In practice, this report presents the yearly results obtained by Canadian Heritage in its role (i) in supporting minority communities and official languages organizations, (ii) in supporting provincial and territorial governments regarding education and services, and (iii) in coordinating the implementation of section 41 of the OLA.

Treasury Board Secretariat

As attributed by Part VIII of the OLA, the Treasury Board is responsible for the general development and coordination of federal principles and programs for the implementation of Parts IV and V of the OLA (communications with and services to the public and language of work) in federal institutions (with the exception of the Senate, House of Commons, the Library of Parliament, the Office of the Senate Ethics Officer and the Conflict of Interest and Ethics Commissioner) (section 46 of the OLA). In this capacity, the Treasury Board Secretariat develops official languages policies and directives.

The Treasury Board, through the Office of the Chief Human Resources Officer (OCHRO), ensures the strategic orientation and coordination of Parts IV and V in federal departments and agencies, Crown corporations and certain private organizations, supports federal institutions to serve and communicate with the public in the official language of its choice, in offices that have this obligation and so they introduce and maintain a work environment that is conducive to the effective use of both official languages in the regions designated bilingual for the purposes of Part V.

In accordance with section 48 of the OLA, the President of the Treasury Board shall submit an annual report to Parliament on the status of the programs relating to official languages (Parts IV, V and VI) in the institutions subject to the OLA.

Public Service Commission

On behalf of Parliament, the Public Service Commission safeguards the integrity of staffing and the non-partisan nature of the public service. In this respect, the Public Service Commission works closely with government but is independent from ministerial direction and is accountable to Parliament.

The Public Service Commission is mandated to administer provisions of the Public Service Employment Act. Appointments by the Commission to or from within the public service shall be made on the basis of merit, which includes official language proficiency (paragraph 30(2)(a) of the Public Service Employment Act). The Commission plays a major role in monitoring the implementation of language provisions for staffing in the public service. It is also responsible for language evaluation and testing and it oversees the application of the Public Service Official Languages Exclusion Approval Order and the Public Service Official Languages Appointment Regulations.

The Council of the Network of Official Languages Champions

Supports the network of official language champions and the national and regional networks of official languages coordinators, advises the Committee of Assistant Deputy Ministers on Official Languages (CADMOL) and other key organizations (for example: Heritage Canada, Treasury Board Secretariat), advances official languages issues at all levels of the public service, and contributes to the distribution and sharing of best practices.

Public

Members of the public have various language rights set out in the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, and in the OLA. They may exercise them under the conditions listed in those instruments.

Date modified:

Gouvernance des langues officielles

Parlement

Les parties I et II de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO) prévoient, respectivement, des dispositions se rapportant aux débats et travaux parlementaires, ainsi qu'aux actes législatifs ou autres.

L'article 88 de la LLO prévoit que le Parlement doit désigner ou constituer un comité soit du Sénat, soit de la Chambre des communes, soit mixte, chargé spécialement de suivre l'application de la LLO, des règlements et des directives auxquels elle donne lieu. Il existe présentement deux comités, un de la Chambre et un du Sénat, qui assurent le suivi des rapports annuels (ou d'autres rapports) du commissaire aux langues officielles (articles 66 et 67 de la LLO), du président du Conseil du Trésor (article 48 de la LLO) et du ministre du Patrimoine canadien (article 44 de la LLO).

L'action du Parlement s'exerce par le biais des comités parlementaires sur les langues officielles de la Chambre des communes et du Sénat. Ces comités parlementaires ont un rôle important à jouer dans la surveillance de l'application de la LLO et de tous les règlements et directives auxquels elle donne lieu.

Les comités parlementaires peuvent également initier la comparution du ministre responsable des Langues officielles, de tout ministre ainsi que des hauts fonctionnaires devant ces comités pour toute question concernant les langues officielles.

Institutions fédérales

Toutes les institutions fédérales (paragraphe 3(1) de la LLO) sont assujetties à la LLO et doivent en mettre en œuvre les dispositions.

Toutes les institutions fédérales, à l'exception du Sénat, de la Chambre des communes, de la Bibliothèque du Parlement, du Bureau du Conseiller sénatorial en éthique et du Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique, doivent se conformer aux dispositions applicables sur les langues officielles contenues dans les « principes d'application » adoptés par le Conseil du Trésor (par. 46(2) de la LLO) sous forme de politiques et de directives.

Commissaire aux langues officielles

En vertu de la partie IX de la LLO, tout individu ou groupe a le droit de porter plainte devant le commissaire aux langues officielles indépendamment de la langue officielle parlée par le ou les plaignants (paragraphe 58(2) de la LLO). Sous réserve des autres dispositions de la partie IX, le commissaire instruit toute plainte reçue et faisant état, dans l'administration d'une institution fédérale, d'un cas précis de non-reconnaissance du statut d'une langue officielle, de manquement à une loi ou un règlement fédéraux sur le statut ou l'usage des deux langues officielles ou encore à l'esprit et à l'intention de la LLO (paragraphe 58(1) de la LLO).

Le commissaire peut enquêter, émettre des recommandations, et, au terme de l'enquête, transmettre son rapport d'abord à l'institution visée, puis au gouverneur en conseil (articles 59 à 64 de la LLO). Si aucune suite n'est donnée à ses recommandations, le commissaire peut déposer au Parlement le rapport en question. Le commissaire peut également présenter au Parlement un rapport spécial sur toute question relevant de sa compétence (articles 66 et 67 de la LLO).

Cour fédérale

La LLO crée un recours judiciaire spécifique aux violations à certaines dispositions de cette loi. Il s'agit des articles 4 à 7 et 10 à 13 et des parties IV, V, VII, ainsi que de l'article 91 de la LLO. Ce recours est ouvert sous certaines conditions de délai à quiconque à saisi le Commissaire aux langues officielles d'une plainte. La Cour fédérale est le tribunal habilité à entendre ces recours (article 77 de la LLO). Le commissaire aux langues officielles peut exercer le recours lui-même ou comparaître à titre d'intervenant (article 78 de la LLO). Pour faciliter l'accès à ce recours, la LLO prévoit un mode sommaire de procédures et des règles de preuve particulières.

Par ailleurs la partie III de la LLO crée un certain nombre de droits et obligations en matière d'administration de la Justice. Ces droits et obligations s'appliquent aux instances devant les tribunaux fédéraux (paragraphe 3(2) de la LLO). Par exemple l'article 18 de la LLO énonce les cas où Sa Majesté du chef du Canada ou une institution fédérale est partie devant un tribunal fédéral doit utiliser, pour les plaidoiries ou les actes de procédure, la langue officielle choisie par les autres parties ou la langue officielle la plus justifiée dans les circonstances. La cour fédérale est au nombre des tribunaux fédéraux.

Ministère de la Justice

Le Ministère a été chargé de l'élaboration de la LLO de 1988 et continue d'en assumer la responsabilité globale. Il conseille le gouvernement sur les questions juridiques ayant trait au statut ou à l'usage des langues officielles et représente le gouvernement dans les litiges liés aux droits linguistiques.

Le Ministère assume également des responsabilités particulières en ce qui concerne l'administration de la justice dans les deux langues officielles et travaille en collaboration avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, la Commission de la fonction publique, le Commissariat aux langues officielles et Patrimoine canadien.

Le Ministère se doit de respecter ses obligations constitutionnelles et législatives ainsi que toutes les politiques et directives applicables. Au-delà de ces obligations, il encourage l'ensemble de ses employés à mettre en place des pratiques innovatrices afin de favoriser l'utilisation des deux langues officielles dans le milieu de travail.

Ministère du Patrimoine canadien

L'article 42 de la LLO confie au ministre du Patrimoine canadien, en consultation avec les autres ministres fédéraux, la mission de susciter et d'encourager la coordination de la mise en œuvre, par les institutions fédérales, des obligations prévues à l'article 41 de la LLO. Le ministère du Patrimoine canadien assure la coordination et l'orientation stratégique de la mise en œuvre de cet article de la LLO dans l'ensemble des institutions fédérales. Il coordonne notamment les activités d'échange d'information et de pratiques exemplaires entre les institutions fédérales. Il analyse et évalue les plans d'action et les rapports annuels des résultats des institutions fédérales et propose des orientations ou des pistes d'action. Il facilite les consultations avec les représentants des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire et sensibilise les fonctionnaires à la nécessité de tenir compte de ces enjeux lors du processus d'élaboration des politiques et des programmes. Le ministère du Patrimoine canadien travaille en étroite collaboration avec les institutions désignées, mais appuie également l'ensemble des institutions fédérales et les incite à tenir compte de l'article 41 de la LLO dans la planification et la mise en œuvre de leurs activités ministérielles.

Dans le cadre de sa mission, le ministre du Patrimoine canadien prend les mesures qu'il estime indiquées pour favoriser la progression vers l'égalité de statut et d'usage du français et de l'anglais dans la société canadienne (article 43 de la LLO). Il conclut notamment des ententes avec les provinces et les territoires en éducation et dans d'autres domaines pour améliorer la prestation de services par les provinces et territoires aux communautés dans leur propre langue officielle.

Conformément à l'article 44 de la LLO, le ministre du Patrimoine canadien dépose un rapport annuel au Parlement sur les questions relevant de sa mission en matière de langues officielles (partie VII).  Dans la pratique, ce rapport fait état des résultats obtenus chaque année par Patrimoine canadien dans son rôle (i) d'appui aux communautés minoritaires et aux organismes de promotion des langues officielles, (ii) d'appui aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux en matière de services et d'éducation et (iii) de coordination de la mise en œuvre de l'article 41 de la LLO.

Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor

Selon les attributions de la partie VIII de la LLO, l'élaboration et la coordination générale des principes et programmes fédéraux d'application des parties IV et V de la LLO (communications avec le public et prestation des services et langue de travail) dans les institutions fédérales (à l'exception du Sénat, de la Chambre des communes, de la Bibliothèque du Parlement, du Bureau du conseiller sénatorial en éthique et du Commissariat aux conflits d'intérêts et à l'éthique) sont sous la responsabilité du Conseil du Trésor (article 46 de la LLO). C'est en cette capacité que le secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor élabore politiques et directives sur les langues officielles.

Le Conseil du Trésor, par l'entremise du Bureau du dirigeant principal des ressources humaines, assure notamment l'orientation stratégique et la coordination des parties IV et V dans les ministères et organismes fédéraux, les sociétés d'État et certains organismes privatisés, appuie les institutions fédérales pour qu'elles servent le public et communique avec lui dans la langue officielle de son choix dans les bureaux qui en ont l'obligation et qu'elles instaurent et préservent un climat de travail propice à l'utilisation efficace des deux langues officielles dans les régions désignées bilingues aux fins de la partie V.

Conformément à l'article 48 de la LLO, le président du Conseil du Trésor dépose devant le Parlement un rapport annuel sur l'exécution des programme en matière de langues officielles (parties IV, V et VI) au sein des institutions assujetties à la LLO.

Commission de la fonction publique

Au nom du Parlement, la Commission de la fonction publique protège l'intégrité des activités de dotation et la nature non partisane de la fonction publique. À cet égard, elle travaille en étroite collaboration avec le gouvernement, mais elle est indépendante des ministères et rend compte au Parlement.

La Commission de la fonction publique est responsable de l'application de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique. Les nominations — internes ou externes — à la fonction publique faites par la Commission sont fondées sur le mérite, y compris notamment la compétence dans les langues officielles (alinéa 30(2)a) de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique).  Elle joue un rôle important de surveillance de l'application des dispositions linguistiques en matière de dotation au sein de la fonction publique. Elle est aussi responsable de l'évaluation linguistique et s'occupe de l'application du Décret d'exemption concernant les langues officielles dans la fonction publique et du Règlement sur les langues officielles – nominations dans la fonction publique.

Le Conseil du Réseau des champions des langues officielles

Appuie le réseau des champions des langues officielles et les réseaux nationaux et régionaux des responsables des langues officielles, conseille le Comité des sous-ministres adjoints sur les langues officielles (CSMALO) et autres organismes clés (par ex. : Patrimoine canadien, Secrétariat du conseil du Trésor), fait avancer les enjeux liés aux langues officielles à tous les niveaux de la fonction publique, et contribue à la diffusion et à l'échange des meilleures pratiques.

Public

Les membres du public sont titulaires des divers droits linguistiques prévus dans la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et dans la LLO. Ils peuvent les exercer dans les conditions énoncées dans ces instruments.

Date de modification :