The Official Languages Act

Prepared by
Official Languages Law Group
Public Law Sector
Department of Justice Canada

This document was prepared for information purposes and does not constitute a legal opinion

The present Official Languages Act was enacted in 1988. It replaced the 1969 Act, which was considered to be somewhat obsolete, particularly in view of the enactment of sections 16 to 23 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms (Official Languages of Canada) and because during the 1970s and 1980s the courts had made a number of decisions clarifying constitutional language rights. The new Act differs from the original Act in that it provides a more precise definition of the rights of the public in relation to the language of communications and services from federal institutions and the rules that apply to the language of work for federal employees. In addition to setting out those rights, the Act provides for administrative and judicial remedies for violations of those rights. The Official Languages Act also sets out the formal commitment by the Government of Canada to ensuring the full and equitable participation by English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians in federal institutions (Part VI) and the formal commitment of the federal government to enhancing the vitality and development of the English and French linguistic minority communities in Canada (Part VII). Since 2005, federal institutions have had a duty to take positive measures for the implementation of the commitment set out in Part VII, and remedies may now be sought in the courts under Part VII of the OLA.

Part I (Proceedings of Parliament) sets out, in subsection 4(1), the fundamental constitutional right provided for in subsection 17(1) of the Charter, and gives everyone the right to use either of the official languages in any debates or other proceedings of Parliament. This Part of the Act further provides, above and beyond that constitutional minimum, for simultaneous interpretation of the debates and other proceedings of Parliament (subsection 4(2)). Subsection 4(3) provides as well that everything reported in official reports of debates or other proceedings of Parliament must be reported in the official language in which it was said and a translation into the other official language must be included.

Part II (Legislative and Other Instruments) provides, above and beyond the "constitutional minimum" that applies to parliamentary records (section 5) and Acts of Parliament (section 6), that any instruments made in the execution of a legislative power or of an executive power that are "of a public and general nature" (section 7) must be in both official languages. Section 8 provides that documents made by or under the authority of a federal institution that are tabled in Parliament must be tabled in both official languages. The two versions are to be made simultaneously and are equally authoritative (section 13).

Part III (Administration of Justice) requires that

Part III applies only to the federal courts: courts or other bodies created under a federal Act to administer justice. The federal institutions to which this definition applies include all courts created by Parliament under section 101 of the Constitution Act, 1867 and some 40 administrative tribunals.

The main purpose of Part IV (Communications with and Services to the Public) is to ensure that federal institutions implement measures to enable Canadians to fully exercise their constitutional right to be served in the official language of their choice.

Part IV confirms the right of the public to communicate with and receive services from all federal institutions in either official language, in the following locations:

Under section 25, federal institutions that communicate with and provide services to the public through another person, such as an agent acting on behalf of a federal institution, must ensure that the other person communicates and provides services in both official languages.

Part V (Language of Work) provides that officers and employees of federal institutions have the right, in accordance with the corresponding duties imposed on institutions, to use English or French in specified work situations.

In the National Capital Region and in designated regions, federal institutions must ensure that the work environment is conducive to the effective use of both official languages and that their employees may exercise the right to use either language, subject to the obligations to serve the public and other employees.

The designated regions include parts of Northern and Eastern Ontario, the Montreal area, parts of the Eastern Townships, Gaspésie and Western Quebec, and New Brunswick. In those regions, both official languages are commonly used, whereas in Canada's other regions only one language predominates.

To create a work environment that is conducive to the effective use of both official languages, federal institutions located in the National Capital Region and the designated regions must comply with certain minimum obligations:

In areas outside the designated regions (sometimes called "unilingual regions"), the language of internal communications will be English or French depending on which language predominates in the region where the office is located. Federal institutions must ensure, however, that English and French as minority languages receive comparable treatment in regions where one language predominates. For example, if a federal institution provides work instruments in English to its English-speaking employees in predominantly French-speaking regions, it should provide work instruments in French to its French-speaking employees in predominantly English-speaking regions.

Part VI (Participation of English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians)confirms the federal government's commitment to ensuring that English-speaking and French-speaking Canadians have equal opportunities to obtain employment and advancement within federal institutions. The government must also ensure that the composition of the work force in federal institutions tends to reflect the presence of both language groups in the general population, bearing in mind the institution's mandate, the public served and the location of the offices. In fulfilling these commitments, federal institutions must respect the merit principle when staffing positions and must also take into account the provisions of the Act regarding service to the public and language of work.

Part VII (Advancement of English and French) sets out the Government of Canada's commitment to enhancing the vitality of official language minority communities and to promoting English and French in Canadian society. That commitment is clearly stated in subsection 41(1) of Part VII of the OLA, and is binding on the entire federal government. All institutions that qualify as federal institutions by virtue of their attachment to the federal government are therefore responsible for carrying out that commitment.

On November 24, 2005, an important addition was made to official languages legislation and policy in Canada. Bill S-3, An Act to amend the Official Languages Act (promotion of English and French), was given Royal Assent; its effect is to amend Part VII of the OLA, extend the scope of that Part and increase the responsibility of federal institutions. Bill S-3 amends the OLA in three ways.

Although the commitment set out in Part VII of the OLA is binding on all federal institutions, some of them have a particular role to play. This is particularly the case for the Department of Canadian Heritage, because of the responsibilities assigned to its minister under sections 42, 43 and 44 of the OLA.

Under those sections, the Minister of Canadian Heritage may exercise the federal government's spending power in order to advance the equality of status and use of both official languages. For example, funding allocated to the Minister's language rights support programs is used to assist the development of linguistic minority communities, encourage the learning of the two official languages by everyone and encourage the provinces to offer services in both official languages.

The Minister may also take such measures as the Minister considers appropriate to ensure public consultation in the development of policies and review of programs relating to the official languages. The Minister must also encourage and promote a coordinated approach to the implementation by federal institutions of this commitment.

As well, the Minister is required to submit an annual report to Parliament on matters relating to all aspects of the Minister's responsibilities in respect of official languages.

Part VIII (Responsibilities and Duties of Treasury Board in Relation to Official Languages) provides that, as the employer and administrator of the Public Service of Canada, the Treasury Board is the principal manager of the Official Languages Program in federal institutions under its jurisdiction. In the 1988 Act, Parliament gave it responsibility for the general direction and coordination of policies and programs relating to the implementation of Parts IV, V and VI of the Act. This is an important change from the 1969 Act.

Part IX (Commissioner of Official Languages) sets out the duties and functions of the Commissioner, who continues to ensure that the status of the official languages is recognized and that federal institutions comply with the spirit and intent of the Act, including in their activities in promoting English and French in Canadian society.

Part X (Court Remedy) provides that any person who has submitted a complaint to the Commissioner of Official Languages alleging that a right or duty under sections 4 to 7, sections 10 to 13, section 91 or Part IV or Part V of the Act has been violated may seek a remedy from the Federal Court. Application for the remedy is ordinarily made within 60 days after the results of the investigation by the Commissioner are reported to the complainant.

If the Court finds that the federal institution has failed to comply with the Act, it may grant such remedy as it considers just and reasonable. The remedy may consist of an order of mandamus to compel compliance with the Act or an award of damages, if appropriate on the facts of the case.

The Commissioner may take a case to the Federal Court personally with the consent of the complainant, appear on behalf of the complainant, or appear as a party to a proceeding commenced by the complainant. The Commissioner may also present, as evidence in court proceedings, information relating to similar complaints involving the same federal institution.

Part XI (General Provisions): It is important to note that in the event of any inconsistency, the rights and duties in the Official Languages Act prevail over the inconsistent provisions of other Acts of Parliament, with the exception of the Canadian Human Rights Act and regulations made under that Act, as provided in section 82.

The role of the Standing Joint Committee on Official Languages is set out in section 88: the Committee is responsible for reviewing the administration of the Act, regulations and directives, and the reports of the Commissioner, the President of the Treasury Board and the Minister of Canadian Heritage.

Date modified:

La Loi sur les langues officielles

Préparé par
Groupe du droit des langues officielles
Secteur du droit public
Ministère de la Justice du Canada

Ce document a été préparé à des fins d'information et ne représente pas une opinion juridique

La Loi sur les langues officielles actuelle a été adoptée en 1988. Elle remplaça la loi de 1969 qui était considérée quelque peu désuète, notamment à cause de l'adoption des articles 16 à 23 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés (Langues officielles du Canada) et parce qu'au cours des années 1970 et 1980 les tribunaux avaient rendu des décisions ayant pour effet de préciser les droits linguistiques constitutionnels. La nouvelle loi se distingue de la première en ce qu'elle détermine avec plus de précision les droits du public en ce qui concerne la langue des communications et services provenant des institutions fédérales et le régime applicable à la langue de travail des fonctionnaires fédéraux. En plus d'énoncer ces droits, cette Loi prévoit des recours administratifs et judiciaires en cas de violation de ces droits. Finalement, la Loi sur les langues officielles prévoit l'engagement formel du gouvernement du Canada d'assurer la participation pleine et équitable des Canadiens d'expression française et anglaise dans les institutions fédérales (partie VI) de même que l'engagement formel du gouvernement fédéral à favoriser l'épanouissement et le développement des minorités francophone et anglophone du Canada (partie VII). Depuis 2005, les institutions fédérales ont l'obligation de prendre des mesures positives pour mettre en œuvre l'engagement énoncé à la partie VII et la partie VII peut maintenant faire l'objet d'un recours devant les tribunaux en vertu de la LLO.

La partie I (Débats et travaux parlementaires) énonce au par. 4(1) le droit constitutionnel fondamental prévu au par. 17(1) de la Charte et confère à chacun le droit d'employer l'une ou l'autre des langues officielles dans les débats et travaux du Parlement. Au-delà de ce minimum constitutionnel, cette partie de la Loi prévoit, en outre, l'interprétation simultanée des débats et autres travaux du Parlement (par. 4(2)). Le par. 4(3) prévoit par ailleurs que les comptes rendus des débats et travaux du Parlement doivent comporter la transcription des propos tenus dans une langue officielle et leur traduction dans l'autre langue officielle.

La partie II (Actes législatifs et autres) prévoit, au-delà du «minimum constitutionnel» qui s'applique aux archives parlementaires (art. 5) et aux lois du Parlement (art. 6), que les actes pris en vertu du pouvoir législatif ou en vertu du pouvoir exécutif qui sont «de nature publique et générale» (art. 7) doivent être rédigés dans les deux langues officielles. L'art. 8 prévoit que les documents qui émanent d'une institution fédérale et qui sont déposés devant le Parlement doivent l'être dans les deux langues officielles. Les deux versions sont établies simultanément et ont également force de loi ou même valeur (art. 13).

La partie III (Administration de la justice) exige que:

La partie III s'applique uniquement aux tribunaux fédéraux, c'est-à-dire aux tribunaux ou autres organismes créés sous le régime d'une loi fédérale pour rendre la justice. Les institutions fédérales auxquelles s'applique cette définition comprennent tous les tribunaux créés par le Parlement en application de l'art. 101 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1867 ainsi qu'une quarantaine de tribunaux administratifs.

La partie IV (Communications avec le public et prestation de services) vise avant tout à garantir que les institutions fédérales mettront en œuvre des mesures qui permettront aux Canadiens et Canadiennes d'exercer pleinement leurs droits conférés par la Constitution, à savoir d'être servis dans la langue officielle de leur choix.

La partie IV confirme le droit du public de communiquer avec toutes les institutions fédérales et d'en recevoir les services dans l'une ou l'autre langue officielle, aux endroits suivants :

En vertu de l'article 25, les institutions fédérales qui communiquent avec le public et lui fournissent des services par l'entremise de tiers, tels que des concessionnaires qui agissent pour le compte de l'institution fédérale, doivent s'assurer que ceux-ci le font dans les deux langues officielles.

La partie V (Langue de travail) prévoit le droit des agents et les employés des institutions fédérales, conformément aux obligations correspondantes imposées aux institutions, d'utiliser dans certaines conditions, le français ou l'anglais au travail.

Dans la région de la Capitale nationale et dans les régions désignées, les institutions fédérales doivent veiller à ce que le milieu de travail soit propice à l'usage effectif des deux langues officielles et que leurs employés puissent exercer le droit d'utiliser l'une ou l'autre, sous réserve des obligations de servir le public et d'autres employés.

Les régions désignées comprennent certaines parties du Nord et de l'Est de l'Ontario, la région de Montréal, certaines parties des Cantons de l'Est, de la Gaspésie et de l'Ouest québécois ainsi que le Nouveau-Brunswick. Dans ces régions, les deux langues officielles sont utilisées couramment, contrairement aux autres régions du Canada où une seule langue prédomine.

Pour créer un milieu de travail propice à l'usage effectif des deux langues officielles, les institutions fédérales situées dans la région de la Capitale nationale et dans les régions désignées doivent respecter certaines obligations minimales :

À l'extérieur des régions désignées (parfois désignées régions « unilingues »), la langue des communications internes est le français ou l'anglais selon la langue qui prédomine dans la région où se trouve le bureau. Toutefois, les institutions fédérales doivent assurer aux deux langues officielles en situation minoritaire un traitement comparable d'une région « unilingue » à l'autre. Par exemple, si une institution fédérale fournit des instruments de travail en anglais à ses employés anglophones dans des régions où le français prédomine, elle doit en faire autant pour les employés francophones des régions où l'anglais prédomine.

La partie VI (Participation des Canadiens d'expression française et d'expression anglaise)confirme l'engagement du gouvernement fédéral à veiller à ce que les Canadiens d'expression française et d'expression anglaise aient des chances égales d'emploi et d'avancement dans les institutions fédérales. Le gouvernement doit aussi s'assurer que les effectifs de travail des institutions fédérales tendent à refléter la présence des collectivités francophone et anglophone dans l'ensemble de la population, tout en tenant compte du mandat institutionnel, du public à servir et de l'endroit où se situent les bureaux. Les institutions fédérales, au titre de ces engagements, doivent respecter le principe du mérite en matière de dotation et tenir compte des dispositions de la Loi en matière de service au public et de langue de travail.

La partie VII (promotion du français et de l'anglais) énonce l'engagement du gouvernement fédéral à favoriser l'épanouissement des minorités de langue officielle et à promouvoir le français et l'anglais dans la société canadienne. Cet engagement est clairement énoncé au paragraphe 41(1) de la partie VII de la LLO. Cet engagement lie l'ensemble du gouvernement fédéral. Toutes les institutions qui se qualifient en tant qu'institution fédérale de par leur rattachement au gouvernement fédéral sont donc responsables de la réalisation de cet engagement.

Le 25 novembre 2005, un élément important a été ajouté au cadre législatif et politique des langues officielles au Canada. Le projet de loi S-3, la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les langues officielles (promotion du français et de l'anglais), a obtenu la sanction royale avec pour effet d'accroître la responsabilité des institutions fédérales. L'adoption du projet de loi S-3 a eu pour effet de modifier la partie VII de la LLO et sa portée. S-3 a modifié la LLO de trois façons.

Bien que l'engagement énoncé à la partie VII de la LLO lie chacune des institutions fédérales, certaines d'entre elles ont un rôle particulier à jouer. C'est plus particulièrement le cas du ministère du Patrimoine canadien en raison des responsabilités dont est investi son ministre en vertu des articles 42, 43 et 44 de la LLO.

Suivant ces articles, le ministre du Patrimoine canadien peut exercer le pouvoir de dépenser du gouvernement fédéral de façon à favoriser la progression vers l'égalité de statut et d'usage des deux langues officielles. Des fonds attribués à ses programmes d'appui aux langues officielles permettent par exemple d'appuyer le développement des minorités linguistiques, de favoriser l'apprentissage des deux langues officielles par tous et d'encourager les provinces à fournir des services dans les deux langues officielles.

Le ministre peut également prendre les mesures qu'il juge aptes à assurer la consultation publique sur l'élaboration des principes d'application et la révision des programmes sur les langues officielles. Il doit également susciter et encourager une approche concertée à la mise en œuvre de cet engagement par les institutions fédérales.

Il est finalement tenu de déposer un rapport au Parlement à chaque année sur les questions touchant à toutes les facettes de son mandat en matière de langues officielles.

La partie VIII (Attributions et obligations du Conseil du trésor en matière de langues officielles) prévoit que le Conseil du Trésor, en sa qualité d'employeur et d'administrateur de la fonction publique du Canada, est le principal gestionnaire du programme de langues officielles dans les institutions fédérales qui relèvent de sa compétence. Le Parlement lui a confié, dans la Loi de 1988, la responsabilité de l'élaboration et de la coordination générales des politiques et des programmes d'application des parties IV, V et VI de la Loi. Il s'agit là d'un important changement apporté depuis la Loi de 1969.

La partie IX (Commissaire aux langues officielles) prévoit le rôle et le mandat du Commissaire qui continue de veiller à la reconnaissance du statut des langues officielles et au respect de l'esprit et de l'intention de la Loi au sein des institutions fédérales, y compris de leurs activités liées à la promotion du français et de l'anglais dans la société canadienne. Le Commissaire :

La partie X (Recours judiciaire) prévoit que quiconque a déposé auprès du commissaire aux langues officielles une plainte visant une obligation ou un droit prévus par les articles 4 à 7, 10 à 13 et 91 ainsi que les parties IV et V de la Loi, peut intenter un recours devant la Cour fédérale. Le recours est normalement entamé dans les soixante jours qui suivent la communication au plaignant du rapport d'enquête du Commissaire.

Si le tribunal conclut que l'institution fédérale n'a pas respecté la Loi, il peut ordonner la réparation qu'il estime juste et raisonnable. Cette réparation peut consister en une ordonnance de mandamus pour forcer l'observation de la Loi ou en l'octroi de dommages-intérêts, si les faits de la cause le justifient.

Le commissaire peut exercer lui-même le recours devant la Cour fédérale si le plaignant y consent, ou encore s'y présenter au nom du plaignant ou même se constituer partie à l'action intentée par le plaignant. Enfin, le commissaire peut présenter, à titre de preuve dans une action devant les tribunaux, les renseignements au sujet de plaintes semblables impliquant la même institution fédérale.

La partie XI (Dispositions générales) : Il est important de noter que les droits et les obligations de la Loi sur les langues officielles l'emportent, en cas de conflit, sur les dispositions incompatibles des autres lois fédérales, sauf celles de la Loi canadienne sur les droits de la personne et de son règlement d'application, tel que le précise l'article 82.

Le rôle du Comité mixte permanent des langues officielles est prévu à l'art. 88 : ce comité est chargé de suivre l'application de la loi, des règlements et instructions, ainsi que de la mise en œuvre des rapports du commissaire, du président du Conseil du Trésor et du ministre du Patrimoine canadien.

Date de modification :