Fair Representation of the Genders in French: Gender-inclusive Writing at Status of Women Canada, 2011

PDF Version (438 Kb, 7 Pages)

Table of contents

1. Preamble

Status of Women Canada is a federal government agency working to promote gender equality and ensuring the full participation of women in Canada's economic, social, cultural and political life.

To promote equality, it is not enough to pass legislation or establish affirmative-action policies; attitudes and culture must change. In 1970, the Royal Commission on the Status of Women noted "the easy generalizations…of the concept of womanhood, that fill so much of the literature, thought and even languages of western countries"Footnote 1, and language is the primary carrier of culture. Hence the importance of ensuring that women are fairly depicted in writing, especially in a language like French, which indicates gender.

2. Definitions

gender-inclusive
Describes a writing technique or text that equitably highlights the presence of women and men. That presence is expressed through the use of words that refer to women and men alike (i.e. through neutral constructions) or that specifically talk about both women and men (i.e. through syntactical feminization) Footnote 2.
lexical feminization
A process where a masculine noun or title is converted to feminine. Thus, rédacteur [male writer] becomes rédactrice [female writer], agent financier supérieur [senior financial officer (male)] becomes agente financière supérieure [senior financial officer (female)] etc.
syntactical feminization
A writing process where women and men are specifically mentioned, mainly through the use of doublets in the sentences (e.g. Le gouvernement souhaite consulter les citoyennes et citoyens [the government wants to consult with male citizens and female citizens]).
generic
Said of a word that indicates a class of beings or objects each of which can be referred to by a specific noun, e.g. a cours d'eau [watercourse] (rivière, fleuve, etc. [different sizes of rivers]) or a personne [person] (man or woman).
gender
The word refers to two separate concepts:
  1. a noun's grammatical category (feminine or masculine);
  2. a person's "sexe social"Footnote 3 [social gender], as opposed to his/her biological gender.

3. Background

Language "is what carries and structures thought"Footnote 4 [translation]. In 1899, Hubertine Auclert underscored the importance of language as a tool for the emancipation of womenFootnote 5.

We all learned in school that, in French, "the masculine overrides the feminine". This is the Vaugelas ruleFootnote 6, which considered the masculine as the nobler of the two genders; a rule that continues to distort the social representation of the gendersFootnote 7because it makes women invisible or downgrades them. Thus, internationally, it is still "droits de l'homme" [rights of man] that is the expression used to talk about the rights of men and women. The adjective commonly agrees with the masculine when one of the nouns it refers to is masculine (e.g. you write une mère, un fils et une fille futés [a clever mother, son and daughter, where "clever" takes the masculine in French])Footnote 8. The feminine is also associated with lowliness (e.g. you say le grand amour [great love] [masc.], but amours enfantines [puppy love] [fem.])Footnote 9.

However, it was not always this way. Under the feudal system, women held an important place in the public landscape, which was reflected in the language. It was full of feminines (like emperière [female emperor], lieutenande [female lieutenant], médecine [female doctor] and bourelle [female executioner])Footnote 10, which fell into disuse after the passing of the Napoleonic codeFootnote 11 which legally subjugated a wife to her husband.

Objecting that feminization is contrary to the spirit of the language is therefore to deny this rich past and, especially, to dismiss a fundamental feature of living languages, namely that they are [translation] "inexorably evolving"Footnote 12. Women tend [translation] "to not feel involved, to see themselves ignored"Footnote 13when a text does not acknowledge their presence.

It can be said that lexical feminization is now part of our moral standards. Simply glance at the job ads on Publiservice, on Emploi-Québec and other sites to see that the job titles are masculine and feminine everywhere. About thirty years ago, the Canadian Classification and Dictionary of Occupations was feminizedFootnote 14. When the Prime Minister of Canada addresses the public, he commonly uses the doublet "les Canadiens et les Canadiennes" [masculine and feminine forms of "Canadians"]. However, to properly refer to both genders in writing, you have to go even further: it is necessary to express the presence of women throughout the text, and that is the goal of gender-inclusive writing.

A number of institutions have gender-inclusive writing policies or guidesFootnote 15. In 1995, the Government of Canada, in its Federal Plan for Gender EqualityFootnote 16 committed to "adopter une terminologie uniforme sensibilisée au sexisme dans toute l'administration fédérale"Footnote 17 The Government Communications Policy of 1996 went even further by requiring federal institutions to "pursue fair communications practices by avoiding sexual stereotyping in their communications, by ensuring representative depiction of all members of Canadian society"Footnote 18. The writing guide published by the Translation Bureau that same yearFootnote 19 suggested several techniques for feminizing texts, stressing the optional nature of feminisation.

However, text feminization cannot be optional, given the goal of gender equality that the Government of Canada has set for itself. There cannot be equality without visibility; in other words, we must ensure that both genders are represented equitably in our writing and can identify themselves.

By ensuring that both genders are visible, gender-inclusive writing contributes to gender-based analysisFootnote 20, which the government first undertook to implement in 1995Footnote 21,and for which it renewed its commitment in 2009Footnote 22,

4. Objective

The purpose of this document is to promote the use of writing processes ensuring that women have fair visibility in all of Status of Women Canada's materials written in French and, by doing so, fostering gender equality.

5. Guiding Principle

All of Status of Women Canada's internal and external documents are written in a way that equitably depicts women and men by giving precedence to the former. To do so, any individual who writes for the organization applies the set of gender-inclusive writing processes available (see the Guide to Gender-Inclusive Writing at Status of Women Canada), by being attentive to both the type of text and the target audience, without sacrificing readability.

Date modified:

Pour une juste représentation des genres en français : la rédaction épicène à Condition féminine Canada, 2011

Format PDF (445 Ko, 6 pages)

Table des matières

1. Préambule

Condition féminine Canada est l'organisme fédéral chargé de promouvoir l'égalité des sexes, ainsi que d'assurer la pleine participation des femmes à la vie économique, sociale, culturelle et politique du pays.

Pour promouvoir l'égalité, il ne suffit pas de promulguer des lois ou de mettre en place des politiques d'action positive; il faut changer les attitudes, la culture. Déjà en 1970, la Commission royale d'enquête sur la situation de la femme notait « les généralisations simplistes au sujet des femmes, dont la littérature et la pensée, et même le langage des pays occidentaux sont pleins »Note de bas de page 1. Or, la langue est le principal vecteur de la culture. D'où l'importance de veiller à une représentation adéquate des femmes à l'écrit, en particulier dans une langue comme le français, qui marque le genre.

2. Définitions

épicène
Décrit une technique de rédaction ou un texte qui met en évidence de façon équitable la présence des femmes et des hommes. Cette présence se manifeste par l'emploi de mots qui désignent aussi bien les femmes que les hommes (c'est-à-dire, par des formulations neutres), ou encore qui parlent explicitement tantôt des femmes, tantôt des hommes (c'est-à-dire, par la féminisation syntaxique)Note de bas de page 2.
féminisation lexicale
Procédé par lequel un nom ou un titre masculin est transposé au féminin. Le rédacteur devient ainsi la rédactrice, l'agent financier supérieur devient l'agente financière supérieure, etc.
féminisation syntaxique
Procédé de rédaction par lequel on nomme explicitement les femmes et les hommes, notamment par l'utilisation de doublets dans les phrases (p. ex. : Le gouvernement souhaite consulter les citoyennes et citoyens).
générique
Se dit d'un mot qui désigne une classe d'êtres ou d'objets susceptibles d'être désignés chacun par un nom spécifique, p. ex. : un cours d'eau (rivière, fleuve, etc.) ou une personne (homme ou femme).
genre
Le mot renvoie à deux notions distinctes :
  1. la catégorie grammaticale d'un nom (féminin ou masculin);
  2. le « sexe social »Note de bas de page 3 d'une personne, par opposition à son sexe biologique.

3. Contexte

La langue « est ce qui porte et structure la pensée »Note de bas de page 4. Déjà en 1899, Hubertine Auclert soulignait l'importance du langage comme outil d'émancipation des femmes.Note de bas de page 5

Toutes et tous, nous avons appris à l'école que « le masculin l'emporte sur le féminin ». C'est la règle de VaugelasNote de bas de page 6, lequel considérait le masculin comme le plus noble des deux genres; une règle qui continue de fausser la représentation sociale des genresNote de bas de page 7 parce qu'elle rend les femmes invisibles ou les infériorise. Ainsi, dans l'espace international, c'est encore « droits de l'homme » qui est l'expression consacrée pour parler des droits des hommes et des femmes. L'adjectif s'accorde couramment au masculin dès qu'un des noms auxquels il se rapporte est masculin (p. ex. : on écrit une mère, un fils et une fille futés)Note de bas de page 8. Le féminin est aussi associé au vulgaire (p. ex. : on dit le grand amour [masc.], mais les amours enfantines [fém.])Note de bas de page 9.

Pourtant, il n'en a pas toujours été ainsi. Sous le régime féodal, les femmes occupaient une place importante dans le paysage public, ce que la langue reflétait. Elle foisonnait de féminins (comme emperière [empereur], lieutenande [lieutenant], médecine [médecin] et bourelle [bourreau])Note de bas de page 10, tombés en désuétude après l'adoption du code de NapoléonNote de bas de page 11 qui a assujetti juridiquement l'épouse à son mari.

Objecter que la féminisation est contraire au génie de la langue, c'est donc nier ce riche passé et, surtout, faire abstraction d'une caractéristique fondamentale des langues vivantes, à savoir qu'elles sont « inexorablement en changement »Note de bas de page 12. Les femmes tendent « à ne pas se sentir touchées, à se voir oubliées »Note de bas de page 13 lorsqu'un texte ne fait pas état de leur présence.

On peut dire que la féminisation lexicale fait maintenant partie des mœurs. Il suffit de jeter un coup d'œil aux annonces d'emplois sur Publiservice, sur Emploi-Québec et d'autres sites pour constater que les titres de fonctions sont, partout, mis au féminin et au masculin. Il y a déjà une trentaine d'années que la Classification canadienne descriptive des professions a été féminiséeNote de bas de page 14. Quand le Premier ministre du Canada s'adresse à la population, il emploie couramment le doublet « les Canadiens et les Canadiennes ». Toutefois, pour bien représenter les deux genres à l'écrit, il faut aller encore plus loin : il faut faire état de la présence des femmes dans tout le texte, et c'est là le but de la rédaction épicène.

Plusieurs institutions se sont dotées de politiques ou de guidesNote de bas de page 15. de rédaction épicène. En 1995, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé dans son Plan fédéral pour l'égalité entre les sexesNote de bas de page 6, à « adopter une terminologie uniforme sensibilisée au sexisme dans toute l'administration fédérale »Note de bas de page 17. La Politique sur les communications du gouvernement de 1996 allait encore plus loin en exigeant des institutions fédérales qu'elles adoptent « des pratiques justes en matière de communication en évitant les stéréotypes sexuels dans leurs communications, en veillant à une juste représentation de tous les membres de la société canadienne »Note de bas de page 18. Le guide de rédaction publié par le Bureau de la traduction la même annéeNote de bas de page 19 proposait quelques techniques de féminisation des textes, en insistant sur le caractère facultatif de la féminisation.

La féminisation des textes ne peut cependant pas être facultative compte tenu de l'objectif d'égalité entre les sexes que s'est fixé le gouvernement du Canada. Il ne peut y avoir d'égalité sans visibilité, c'est-à-dire qu'il faut veiller à ce que les deux sexes soient représentés de façon équitable dans nos écrits et puissent s'y reconnaître.

La rédaction épicène, en assurant la visibilité des deux sexes, contribue à l'analyse comparative entre les sexesNote de bas de page 20, que le gouvernement s'est engagé une première fois à mettre en œuvre en 1995Note de bas de page 21 et envers laquelle il a renouvelé son engagement en 2009Note de bas de page 22.

4. Objectif

Le présent document a pour objet de promouvoir l'utilisation de procédés rédactionnels qui assurent aux femmes une juste visibilité dans tous les écrits de Condition féminine Canada en français et, ce faisant, favorisent l'égalité des sexes.

5. Principe directeur

Tous les documents internes et externes de Condition féminine Canada sont rédigés de manière à représenter équitablement les femmes et les hommes, en donnant la préséance aux premières. Pour ce faire, toute personne qui rédige pour l'organisme applique la gamme des procédés de rédaction épicène disponibles (voir le Guide de rédaction épicène de Condition féminine Canada), en se souciant tant de la nature des textes que de l'auditoire visé, et sans sacrifier la lisibilité.

Date de modification :