Roles and Responsibilities of the Official Languages Champion

Preamble

The role of the official languages champion was included in the Policy on Official Languages, which came into effect on November 19, 2012. The policy stipulates that deputy heads must establish an appropriate governance structure.

Since duties and governance models can vary from one institution to another, this generic document is designed so you can take from it those elements that apply to your institution's particular circumstances with respect to the application of the Official Languages Act. Below is a list of examples of activities that reflect the roles and responsibilities of an official languages champion.

Background

The official languages champion in each institution is appointed by the deputy head. Ideally, the champion serves on the executive committee of his or her institution, but has no reporting duties or specific responsibilities regarding the application of official languages legislation and policies. His or her role is to demonstrate leadership, listen, summarize, exert influence and communicate.

Behaviours and Activities

The following are examples of behaviours that may be adopted by the official languages champion as well as activities that he/she may undertake at the institution, where applicable:

Date modified:

Rôle et responsabilités du champion des langues officielles

Préambule

Le rôle du champion des langues officielles a été inclus dans la Politique sur les langues officielles entrée en vigueur le 19 novembre 2012. Cette politique stipule que les administrateurs généraux doivent se doter d'une structure de gouvernance appropriée.

Étant donné que les fonctions peuvent varier d'une institution à l'autre, le présent document générique a été conçu de façon à vous permettre d'utiliser les éléments qui correspondent aux circonstances propres à votre institution dans l'application de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une liste d'exemples d'activités qui reflètent le rôle et les responsabilités d'un champion des langues officielles.

Contexte

Le champion des langues officielles au sein de chaque institution est nommé par l'administrateur général. Idéalement, le champion siège au comité de direction de son institution, mais il ne relève de personne et n'a aucune responsabilité spécifique liée à l'application des lois et politiques en matière de langues officielles. Son rôle vise des fonctions de leadership, d'écoute, de synthèse, d'influence et de communication.

Comportements et activités

Les comportements ci-dessous sont des exemples de comportements du champion des langues officielles et d'activités qu'il doit mener au sein de l'institution, le cas échéant :

Date de modification :